Signs in the Heavens, Basics Part 2

Posted: August 12, 2010 in Signs In The Heavens

One of the things the Lord Jesus and the writers of the Epistles commanded us to do is watch, to be on guard, alert and watching, awake and not asleep.

Mark 13:33, “Take heed, watch and pray; for you do not know when the time is. (34) [It is] like a man going to a far country, who left his house and gave authority to his servants, and to each his work, and commanded the doorkeeper to watch. (35) Watch for you do not know when the master of the house is coming–in the evening, at midnight, at the crowing of the rooster, or in the morning– (36) lest, coming suddenly, he find you sleeping. (37) And what I say to you, I say to all: Watch!” therefore,

The watchers reporting the signs on the earth are many, but there are few watchers reporting on the signs in the heavens. Why? Because there is so much warfare involved. The devil has had the heavenlies for too long.  Lack of knowledge of the heavenlies. God’s people are ignorant.

Luke 21:11, “And there will be great earthquakes in various places, and famines and pestilence; and there will be fearful sights and great signs from heaven.” (fearful is Greek phobetron, where we get the word phobia & great is the Greek word megas, where we get the word mega, referring to something very large)

Genesis 1:14, “And God said, Let there be lights in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and years” (seasons- moedim, God’s fixed, appointed times)

When the signs are in the heavenlies over God’s appointed festivals (Feasts of the Lord) it is calling us to attention, watch. Luke 2:25, “And there will be signs in the sun, in the moon, and in the stars; and on the earth distress of nations, with perplexity, the sea and the waves roaring; (28) Now when these things begin to happen, look up and lift up your heads, because your redemption draws near.” (Also Daniel 6:26-27; Joel 2:31; Isaiah 34:2-5)[my comment- look up, WATCH the heavenly signs]

 Stars: Wandering and Fixed (remember in Basics, part 1  we covered that God ‘named’ the stars)

The wandering stars are the planets that move in a pattern.  According to rabbinical teachings, there were originally  7 heavenly lights God used to teach His people, the same number of the lights on a menorah.

The 7 original planets are:

  1.  Jupiter [Hebrew Tzeked meaning ‘righteous’] This is the King David Planet, also known as the Messiah.
  2.  Saturn [Hebrew Shabbtai meaning ‘Sabbath’, representing the Lord of the Sabbath, rest] This is the most beautiful planet and is made of gas.
  3. Venus [Hebrew Nogah meaning ‘Splendor’, The Splendor of the Lord] This represents the Bride (for Israel being God’s bride or the Bride of Christ) This is also known as ‘the Morning Star’ and is seen before dawn or right after sundown.  This is the brightest celestial object nest to the sun or moon.
  4. Mars [Hebrew Ma’adim, The Red One, representing The Adam]
  5. Mercury [Hebrew Kochav, The Sun Star] Mercury is only visible a few weeks of the year.
  6. Sun [Hebrew Chamah] representing Holy Fire
  7. Moon [Hebrew Lavanah] This represents the Holy Spirit of God

The Fixed Stars are constellations and together tell the story of from Jesus’ first coming to His second coming. Job, known as the oldest book in the Bible, speaks of the Bear, Orion, Pleiades, Cetus, the Sea Monster, Draco adn the Great Dragon. All of those are either constellations or part of the main constellations.

The fixed stars we are going to concentrate on are the constellations. There are 12 constellations, each with 3 decans making up 48 fixed signs. 12 is the number representing government, ruling (12 Tribes of Israel, 12 Apostles of Jesus, 12 months, etc). The story told comes from the names of the brightest stars to the lesser and put together tell the story. These names have not changed meanings throughout history- from Adam to now. In different languages the name is changed, but not the meaning.

Today we will only focus on Virgo because we will be looking at the wonder in the heavenlies in Virgo August 12th.

VIRGOThe Virgin, the promised seed of a woman (Gen 3:15)  (woman with a branch in her right hand and some ears of corn in her left hand)

  • Coma, the Desired– the Desire of all nations (woman holding a baby)
  • Centaurus, the Centaur– the despised sin offering (half man, half horse- 2 natures of Jesus, being the Son of Man & the Son of God)
  • Bootes, The Coming One– He Cometh- The Coming One (picture of a man, shepherd or harvester,  walking rapidly with a spear in his right hand and a sickle in the left hand)

The first constellation group of Virgo tells the story of Jesus, being born of a virgin (Is 7:14), being the desire of all nations (Haggai 2:7), to be the despised sin offering (Isaiah 53), and the promised Coming One (John 1:26-27). The brightest star that leads the constellation is the ‘branch‘, Hebrew Tsemech. This is used exclusively as representing “the Messiah” and begins the story of Jesus. (Jer 23:5; Zech 3:8 & 6:12; Is 4:2)













Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s